Holland & Knight

800 17th Street, Suite 1100 | Washington, DC 20006 | T 202.955.3000 | F 202.955.5564 Holland & Knight LLP | www.hklaw.com
Norman M. Glasgow, Jr.
202.419.2460
norman.glasgowjr@hklaw.com

November 16, 2017

VIA IZIS

Zoning Commission of the District of Columbia 441 4th Street, N.W. Suite 210 Washington, DC 20001

Re: Z.C. Case No. 11-03J

Applicant's Motion for Three Separate Deliberations and Decisions Southwest Waterfront Phase 2 / The Wharf

Dear Members of the Commission:

On behalf of the Applicant, Wharf Phase 3 REIT Leaseholder LLC, on behalf of the District of Columbia Office of the Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development, we hereby move to separate the deliberation and decision of the above-referenced case into three (3) separate actions, as follows:

- 1. Overall Plan Elements / Volume C (Master Plan, Parcel 10, Water Building 3, M Street Landing, The Terrace, and Wharf Marina)
- 2. Volume B (Parcel 8, Parcel 9, Water Building 2, The Grove, and Marina Way)
- 3. Volume A (Parcel 6, Parcel 7, Water Building 1, and The Oculus)

In support of this motion, the Applicant states that separating the deliberations and decision into three separate actions will maintain consistency and order in the proceedings, and follows the precedent established by the Commission in its decisions and issuance of orders for the Stage 2 application for Parcels 2, 3, 4 and related elements of the Wharf project approved in January 2013 (Z.C. Order Nos. 11-03A(1), 11-03A(2), 11-03A(3), and 11-03A(4)). Further, the organization of separate actions stated above is consistent with the Commission's decision at setdown to hold multiple hearings on Phase 2 of the Wharf project due to the number of buildings and other development components, and the breadth of information contained in the case record. As such, in the interest of administrative efficiency and economy, the applicant respectfully requests the Commission to grant this motion and decide this case in three separate orders.

Zoning Commission of the District of Columbia November 16, 2017 Z.C. 11-03J Page 2

setdown to hold multiple hearings on Phase 2 of the Wharf project due to the number of buildings and other development components, and the breadth of information contained in the case record. As such, in the interest of administrative efficiency and economy, the applicant respectfully requests the Commission to grant this motion and decide this case in three separate orders.

We look forward to the Commission's consideration of this motion.

Sincerely,

HOLLAND & KNIGHT LLP

Norman M. Glasgow, Jr.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on November 16, 2017 a copy of the forgoing motion was served by email or first-class mail, on the following:

Advisory Neighborhood Commission 6D 1101 4th Street, SW Suite W130 Washington, DC 20024 office@anc6d.org

Gail Fast, ANC 6D01 6D01@anc.dc.gov fasthgail@gmail.com

Cara Shockley, ANC 6D02 6d02@anc.dc.gov CaraLea6DShockley@gmail.com

Ronald Collins, ANC 6D03 6D03@anc.dc.gov

Andy Litsky, ANC 6D04 <u>alitsky@aol.com</u>

Roger Moffatt, ANC 6D05 6D05@anc.dc.gov moffatt@verizon.net

Rhonda N. Hamilton, ANC 6D06 6D06@anc.dc.gov misrhonda@yahoo.com

Meredith Fascett, ANC 6D07 6D07@anc.dc.gov meredith.fascett@gmail.com

Southwest Library 900 Wesley Place SW Washington, DC 20024

Gangplank Slipholders Association Gary Blumenthal, President gary.blumenthal@gmail.com Tiber Island Condominium Richard Brown, President rabrown1203@aol.com

Tiber Island Cooperative Homes. Inc. Paula Van Lare, President president@tiberisland.com

525 Water, A Condominium Unit Owners Association Brad Neilley, President brad_neilley@avalonbay.com 525waterbod@gmail.com Zoning Commission of the District of Columbia November 16, 2017 Z.C. 11-03J Page 4

Zoning Commission of the District of Columbia November 16, 2017 Z.C. 11-03J Page 5

cc: Joe Lapan, District of Columbia Office of the Deputy Mayor for Planning

and Economic Development (via email)

Joel Lawson, Office of Planning (via email) Matthew Jesick, Office of Planning (via email)

Advisory Neighborhood Commission 6D (via email)

Gail Fast, ANC 6D01 (via email)

Cara Shockley, ANC 6D02 (via email)

Ronald Collins, ANC 6D03 (via email)

Andy Litsky, ANC 6D04 (via email)

Roger Moffatt, ANC 6D05 (via email)

Rhonda N. Hamilton, ANC 6D06 (via email)

Meredith Fascett, ANC 6D07 (via email)

Southwest Library (via first-class mail)